You are on page 1of 14

The Hellenion Calendar H

This calendar is the working calendar of Hellenion, a diverse group of Hellenic polytheists sharing the common goal of living a life of piety and proper respect for the Gods of
Olympos and ancient Hellenic tradition.

The calendar is based on the monthly and annual observances and festivals of the ancient Athenians from about 800 BCE to 323 BCE. This version was created using information
derived from http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/SKYCAL/SKYCAL.html?cal=2014#skycal and from www.timeanddate.com/calendar/moonphases.html as well as the sources
Greek Religion by Walter Burkert (Harvard University Press, 1977, English translation: Basil Blackwell Publisher and Harvard University Press, 1985), Old Stones, New Temples;
ancient Greek paganism reborn, by Drew Campbell (Xlibris Corporation, 2000), Festivals of the Athenians, by H. W. Parke (London, Thames and Hudson, 1977) and HMEPA at
www.numachi.com/~ccount/hmepa .

One of our associated projects, the creation of an on-line version of this calendar, is now available at the Hellenion web site: http://www.hellenion.org . That version contains
links to descriptions of all the special days noted on this calendar and suggestions about how to observe them in the 21st century. You are under no obligation to observe all the
occasions and days mentioned here; in fact, that would be all but impossible at present, since none of us live in a wholly polytheistic city. Every observance is optional. This
calendar is made available to you as a learning tool, and as a framework to begin or extend your practice of ancient Hellenic religious tradition. Needless to say, ancient Hellenic
religion involved many more practices than are implied by this calendar, which is adapted to the modern secular calendar.

The calendar outlines ancient monthly practices, such as Hekates Deipnon, Noumenia (the visible crescent moon) and the Agathos Daimon. It also lists ancient Athenian festivals
on the exact dates where these are known. Where the exact date has not been revealed by research, a question mark follows the name of the festival. Information about the specific
observance can be found in the references mentioned above and on the on-line version.

In addition to ancient festivals and observances, certain modern occasions are listed as well. This includes the Hellenion monthly libation (ensuring that at least one day a month is
shared by the community, albeit scattered, at the same time, and also ensuring that each of the twelve Olympians is honored at least once during the year). Note that this libation is
not an official practice of Hellenion but a voluntary activity endorsed by many Hellenion members. Some modern festivals are also listed, such as Heliogenna in December, and
Prometheia, held in Greece on the summer solstice near Mt. Olympos (see www.ysee.gr/index-eng.php for more information about this festival).

Remember that, among the ancient Greeks, the day begins at sundown of the previous day. Days in gray indicate the new moon/beginning of Greek month and the Hellenion
monthly libation date.

Transliteration of Greek month names and festivals below used y to represent the short u of Greek, kh is used to represent chi (), a sound which does not exist in English,
and e represents both epsilon () and eta (). !


The cover illustration is Stoa of Stagira, birthplace of Aristotle, Halkidiki, Greece, September 2013, by Melissa Gold. Aristotle would have walked and learned philosophy here.
January 2014
Poseideon - Gamelion
-
Year 1 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 29 Poseideon 2 30 Poseideon
Hekates Deipnon
3 1 Gamelion
Noumenia
4 2 Gamelion
Agathos Daimon
5 3 Gamelion 6 4 Gamelion 7 5 Gamelion 8 6 Gamelion 9 7 Gamelion 10 8 Gamelion 11 9 Gamelion
Libation to Hera

12 10 Gamelion

13 11 Gamelion
Lenaia
14 12 Gamelion
Lenaia
15 13 Gamelion
Lenaia
11:53 pm EST
16 14 Gamelion
Lenaia
17 15 Gamelion 18 16 Gamelion
19 17 Gamelion 20 18 Gamelion 21 19 Gamelion 22 20 Gamelion 23 21 Gamelion 24 22 Gamelion 25 23 Gamelion

26 24 Gamelion

27 25 Gamelion 28 26 Gamelion 29 27 Gamelion
Theogamia
30 28 Gamelion 31 29 Gamelion
Hekates Deipnon
= full moon
Dark of the moon: Jan 1 6:14 am EST; 5:14 am CST; 4:14 am MST; 3:14 am PST
Dark of the moon: Jan 30 4:39 pm EST; 3: 39 pm CST; 2: 39 pm MST; 1: 39 pm PST



February 2014
Anthesterion

Year 1 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday

1 1 Anthesterion
Noumenia
2 2 Anthesterion
Agathos Daimon
3 3 Anthesterion 4 4 Anthesterion 5 5 Anthesterion 6 6 Anthesterion n 7 7 Anthesterion

8 8 Anthesterion
Libation to Aphrodite
9 9 Anthesterion 10 10 Anthesterion

11 11 Anthesterion
Anthesteria -
Pithiogia
12 12 Anthesterion
Anthesteria - Khoes
13 13 Anthesterion
Anthesteria - Khutroi
14 14 Anthesterion
6:53 pm EST
15 15 Anthesterion
16 16 Anthesterion 17 17 Anthesterion 18 18 Anthesterion 19 19 Anthesterion 20 20 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries
21 21 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries

22 22 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries

23 23 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries &
Diasia
24 24 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries

25 25 Anthesterion
Lesser Mysteries
26 26 Anthesterion 27 27 Anthesterion 28 28 Anthesterion
= full moon


March 2014
Anthesterion - Elaphebolion
-
Year 1 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
= full moon
1 29 Anthesterion
2 30 Anthesterion
Hekates Deipnon
3 1 Elaphebolion
Noumenia
4 2 Elaphebolion
Agathos Daimon
5 3 Elaphebolion

6 4 Elaphebolion

7 5 Elaphebolion

8 6 Elaphebolion
Libation to
Hephaistos
9 7 Elaphebolion 10 8 Elaphebolion
Asklepieia

11 9 Elaphebolion

12 10 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

13 11 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

14 12 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

15 13 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika
1:09 pm EDT
16 14 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

17 15 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

18 16 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika

19 17 Elaphebolion
Dionysia ta astika &
Pandia
20 18 Elaphebolion
Equinox
21 19 Elaphebolion

22 20 Elaphebolion

23 21 Elaphebolion

24 22 Elaphebolion

25 23 Elaphebolion

26 24 Elaphebolion

27 25 Elaphebolion

28 26 Elaphebolion

29 27 Elaphebolion
30 28 Elaphebolion 31 29 Elaphebolion
Hekates Deipnon
Dark of the moon: Mar 1 3:00 am EST; 2:00 pm CST; 1:00 pm MST; 12:00 pm PST; daylight savings time begins March 9 in Canada and USA.
Dark of the moon: Mar 30 2:45 pm EDT; 1:45 pm CDT; 12:45 pm MDT; Mar 29 - 11:45 am PDT



April 2014
Mounykhion

Year 1 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 1 Mounykhion
Noumenia
2 2 Mounykhion
Agathos Daimon

3 3 Mounykhion 4 4 Mounykhion 5 5 Mounykhion
6 6 Mounykhion
Delphinia
7 7 Mounykhion 8 8 Mounykhion 9 9 Mounykhion 10 10 Mounykhion 11 11 Mounykhion

12 12 Mounykhion
Libation to Artemis
13 13 Mounykhion 14 14 Mounykhion 15 15 Mounykhion
3:43 am EDT
16 16 Mounykhion
Mounykhia
17 17 Mounykhion 18 18 Mounykhion 19 19 Mounykhion
Olympeia
20 20 Mounykhion 21 21 Mounykhion

22 22 Mounykhion
Earth Day
23 23 Mounykhion 24 24 Mounykhion

25 25 Mounykhion 26 26 Mounykhion

27 27 Mounykhion 28 28 Mounykhion 29 29 Mounykhion

30 30 Mounykhion
Hekates Deipnon

= full moon
Dark of the moon: Apr 29 2:15 am EDT; 1: 15 am CDT; 12: 15 am MDT; Apr 28 - 11:15 pm PDT

May 2014
Thargelion - Skirophorion
-
Year 1 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
= full moon


1 1 Thargelion
Noumenia

2 2 Thargelion
Agathos Daimon

3 3 Thargelion
4 4 Thargelion 5 5 Thargelion 6 6 Thargelion
Thargelia
7 7 Thargelion
Thargelia
8 8 Thargelion 9 9 Thargelion

10 10 Thargelion
Libation to Apollon
11 11 Thargelion
Mothers Day
12 12 Thargelion

13 13 Thargelion 14 14 Thargelion
3:16 pm EDT
15 15 Thargelion

16 16 Thargelion

17 17 Thargelion
18 18 Thargelion 19 19 Thargelion
Bendideia
Victoria Day (Canada)
20 20 Thargelion 21 21 Thargelion 22 22 Thargelion 23 23 Thargelion 24 24 Thargelion

25 25 Thargelion
Kallynteria
26 26 Thargelion
Plynteria
Memorial Day (US)
27 27 Thargelion 28 28 Thargelion

29 29 Thargelion
Hekates Deipnon
30 1 Skirophorion
Noumenia
31 2 Skirophorion
Agathos Daimon
Dark of the moon: May 28 2:40 pm EDT; 1: 40 pm CDT; 12: 40 pm MDT; 11:40 am PDT


June 2014
Skirophorion - Hekatombaion
-
Year 1 of the 698
th
Olympiad Year 2 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 3 Skirophorion
Arrephoria
2 4 Skirophorion 3 5 Skirophorion

4 6 Skirophorion 5 7 Skirophorion 6 8 Skirophorion 7 9 Skirophorion
8 10 Skirophorion 9 11 Skirophorion 10 12 Skirophorion
Skira
11 13 Skirophorion

12 14 Skirophorion
Bouphomia & Dipolieia
13 15 Skirophorion
2:13 am EDT
14 16 Skirophorion
Libation to Zeus
15 17 Skirophorion
Fathers Day
16 18 Skirophorion

17 19 Skirophorion

18 20 Skirophorion

19 21 Skirophorion 20 22 Skirophorion 21 23 Skirophorion
Prometheia
Solstice
22 24 Skirophorion

23 25 Skirophorion 24 26 Skirophorion 25 27 Skirophorion

26 28 Skirophorion 27 29 Skirophorion

28 30 Skirophorion
Hekates Deipnon
29 1 Hekatombaion
Noumenia
Athenian New Year

30 2 Hekatombaion
Agathos Daimon

= full moon
Dark of the moon: Jun 27 4:09 am EDT; 3: 09 am CDT; 2: 09 am MDT; 1: 09 am PDT



July 2014
Hekatombaion - Metageitnion
-
Year 2 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 3 Hekatombaion
Canada Day
2 4 Hekatombaion 3 5 Hekatombaion

4 6 Hekatombaion
US Independence Day
5 7 Hekatombaion
6 8 Hekatombaion 7 9 Hekatombaion 8 10 Hekatombaion

9 11 Hekatombaion

10 12 Hekatombaion
Kronia
11 13 Hekatombaion 12 14 Hekatombaion
Libation to Athena
7:25 am EDT
13 15 Hekatombaion 14 16 Hekatombaion
Synoikia
15 17 Hekatombaion 16 18 Hekatombaion 17 19 Hekatombaion 18 20 Hekatombaion 19 21 Hekatombaion
20 22 Hekatombaion

21 23 Hekatombaion
Panathenaia ta mikra
22 24 Hekatombaion
Panathenaia ta mikra
23 25 Hekatombaion
Panathenaia ta mikra
24 26 Hekatombaion
Panathenaia ta mikra

25 27 Hekatombaion
Panathenaia ta mikra
26 28 Hekatombaion
Panathenaia ta mikra
27 29 Hekatombaion
Panathenaia ta mikra
Hekates Deipnon
28 1 Metageitnion
Noumenia

29 2 Metageitnion
Agathos Daimon
Herakleia?
30 3 Metageitnion 31 4 Metageitnion
= full moon
Dark of the moon: Jul 26 6:42 pm EDT; 5: 42 pm CDT; 4: 42 pm MDT; 3: 42 pm PDT

August 2014
Metageitnion - Boedromion
-
Year 2 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
= full moon
1 5 Metageitnion

2 6 Metageitnion

3 7 Metageitnion

4 8 Metageitnion
Civic Holiday in Canada
5 9 Metageitnion

6 10 Metageitnion

7 11 Metageitnion

8 12 Metageitnion

9 13 Metageitnion
Libation to Hermes
10 14 Metageitnion
2:10 pm EDT
11 15 Metageitnion 12 16 Metageitnion
Kourotrophos,
Hekate and Artemis
13 17 Metageitnion 14 18 Metageitnion 15 19 Metageitnion
The Heroines
16 20 Metageitnion
Hera Telkhinia
17 21 Metageitnion 18 22 Metageitnion 19 23 Metageitnion


20 24 Metageitnion

21 25 Metageitnion
Zeus Epoptes
22 26 Metageitnion

23 27 Metageitnion
24 28 Metageitnion 25 29 Metageitnion

26 30 Metageitnion
Hekates Deipnon
27 1 Boedromion
Noumenia
28 2 Boedromion
Agathos Daimon
Niketeria
29 3 Boedromion 30 4 Boedromion
31 5 Boedromion
Genesios

Dark of the moon: Aug 25 10:13 am EDT; 9:13 am CDT; 8:13 am MDT; 7:13 am PDT.


September 2014
Boedromion - Pyanepsion
-
Year 2 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 6 Boedromion
Artemis Agrotera
2 7 Boedromion 3 8 Boedromion 4 9 Boedromion 5 10 Boedromion

6 11 Boedromion

7 12 Boedromion
Demokratia
8 13 Boedromion
Labor Day
9:38 pm EDT
9 14 Boedromion 10 15 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala

11 16 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala

12 17 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala
Epidauria?
13 18 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala
Libation to Demeter
& Persephone
14 19 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala


15 20 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala
Hellenion membership
renewals due
16 21 Boedromion
Eleusinia ta megala
17 22 Boedromion

18 23 Boedromion

19 24 Boedromion

20 25 Boedromion

21 26 Boedromion

22 27 Boedromion
Equinox
23 28 Boedromion
Sacrifices to Nymphs,
Akhelos, others
24 29 Boedromion

25 30 Boedromion
Hekates Deipnon
26 1 Pyanepsion
Noumenia
27 2 Pyanepsion
Agathos Daimon
28 3 Pyanepsion

29 4 Pyanepsion

30 5 Pyanepsion


= full moon
Dark of the moon: Sep 24 2:14 am EDT; 1:14 am CDT; 12:14 am MDT; Sep 23 - 11:14 pm PDT.



October 2014
Pyanepsion - Maimakterion
-
Year 2 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday


1 6 Pyanepsion
Proerosia
2 7 Boedromion
Pyanepsia
3 8 Pyanepsion
Theseia
4 9 Pyanepsion
Stenia

5 10 Pyanepsion

6 11 Pyanepsion
Thesmophoria
7 12 Pyanepsion
Thesmophoria
8 13 Pyanepsion
Thesmophoria
6:51 am EDT
9 14 Pyanepsion
The Heroines
10 15 Pyanepsion

11 16 Pyanepsion
Libation to Poseidon
12 17 Pyanepsion

13 18 Pyanepsion
Thanksgiving (Canada)
14 19 Pyanepsion 15 20 Pyanepsion

16 21 Pyanepsion

17 22 Pyanepsion

18 23 Pyanepsion

19 24 Pyanepsion

20 25 Pyanepsion 21 26 Pyanepsion 22 27 Pyanepsion 23 28 Pyanepsion 24 29 Pyanepsion
Khalkeia
Hekates Deipnon
25 1 Maimakterion
Noumenia
26 2 Maimakterion
Agathos Daimon
27 3 Maimakterion 28 4 Maimakterion 29 5 Maimakterion 30 6 Maimakterion 31 7 Maimakterion
= full moon
Dark of the moon: Oct 23 5:57 pm EDT; 4:57 pm CDT; 3:57 pm MDT; 2:57 pm PDT

November 2014
Maimakterion Poseideon
-
Year 2 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
= full moon
1 8 Maimakterion
2 9 Maimakterion 3 10 Maimakterion
Pompaia?

4 11 Maimakterion

5 12 Maimakterion

6 13 Maimakterion
5:23pm EST
7 14 Maimakterion 8 15 Maimakterion
Libation to Ares
9 16 Maimakterion

10 17 Maimakterion

11 18 Maimakterion
Remembrance Day
Veterans Day
12 19 Maimakterion

13 20 Maimakterion

14 21 Maimakterion

15 22 Maimakterion
16 23 Maimakterion

17 24 Maimakterion 18 25 Maimakterion 19 26 Maimakterion 20 27 Maimakterion 21 28 Maimakterion 22 29 Maimakterion
23 30 Maimakterion
Hekates Deipnon

24 1 Poseideon
Noumenia
25 2 Poseideon
Agathos Daimon
26 3 Poseideon 27 4 Poseideon
Thanksgiving (USA)
28 5 Poseideon 29 6 Poseideon
30 7 Poseideon
Dark of the moon: Nov 22 7:330 am EST; 6:33 am CST; 5:33 am MST; 4:33 am PST;
Daylight savings time ends November 2 in Canada and USA.


December 2014
Poseideon Poseideon 2
`
Year 2 of the 698
th
Olympiad

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1 8 Poseideon 2 9 Poseideon

3 10 Poseideon

4 11 Poseideon

5 12 Poseideon 6 13 Poseideon
7:27 am EST
7 14 Poseideon 8 15 Poseideon 9 16 Poseideon 10 17 Poseideon
Poseidea
11 18 Poseideon 12 19 Poseideon 13 20 Poseideon
Libation to Dionysos
14 21 Poseideon 15 22 Poseideon 16 23 Poseideon

17 24 Poseideon 18 25 Poseideon 19 26 Poseideon
Haloa
20 27 Poseideon

21 28 Poseideon
Heliogenna
Solstice
22 29 Poseideon
Heliogenna
Hekates Deipnon
23 1 Poseideon 2
Noumenia
24 2 Poseideon 2
Agathos Daimon
25 3 Poseideon 2 26 4 Poseideon 2 27 5 Poseideon 2
28 6 Poseideon 2

29 7 Poseideon 2 30 8 Poseideon 2

31 9 Poseideon 2
New Years Eve

= full moon
Dark of the moon: Dec 21 8:36 pm EST; 7:36 pm CST; 6:36 pm MST; 5:36 pm PST